More Fun
  Make My Wish
  Astro E-cards
  Love Calculator
  Crystal Ball
  Lotto Number
  Analyze Phone
  Today's Fortune
  What's in a Name
  Astro Opinion Poll
  Age Calculator
Hall of Fame
  iPhone App
  Daily Panchang
  About Baby Names
  Chinese Astrology
  About Food Astrology
  About Fruit Astrology
  About Color Astrology
  About Numerology
  Dream Dictionary
  About Vaastu
  About Pyramids
  About Crystals
  About Colors
  About Yoga
  About Medidation
  About Healing
  About Hypnosis
  About Reiki

Bhakti Yoga Hatha YogaJnana YogaKarma Yoga Kundalini YogaLaya YogaRaja Yoga

Raja Yoga

Raja Yoga is the Yoga of growth and development through mental discipline. Patanjali is the highest authority on Raja Yoga. Of all the other Y ogas, only Raja Yoga has prescribed eight steps to practise in a scientific manner for physical, mental and emotional development.

The first step is Yama (social virtues) that deals with:

(a) Ahimsa (non-violence)
(b) Sathya (truthfulness)
(c) Asteya (non-stealing)
(d) Brahmacharya (continence)
(e) Aparigraha (unselfishness)

The second step is Niyama (personal virtues), which insists on:
(f) Soucha (purity of body and mind)
(g) Santosha (contentment)
(h) Tapas (austerity)
(i) Swadhyaya (self-study and improvement)
(j) Ishwara Pranidhana (self-surrender to God)

Yama and Niyama could be considered the Ten Commandments of Yoga meant for controlling the passions and emotions of a person and thereby paving the way for practise of higher levels of Yoga.

The third step is Asana, which refers to body postures, and physical exercises to restore and refresh the body by better circulation of blood, more effective breathing and muscular relaxation.

The fourth step is Pranayama. It refers to Yogic exercises of breath control used to relax the body and thus recharge the body's batteries. Prana is the generalised manifestation of all forces and power in the universe. Pranayama, therefore, refers to certain exercises through which every part of the body is filled with Prana and from this vital force a certain amount of power is generated in the body. Through Pranayama one is able to exert complete control over his body, mind and emotions.

The fifth step is Prathiyahara. It is control of the senses, the intentional withdrawal from sights, sounds, smells and feelings of the external world, and selective inattention to the senses.

The sixth step is Dharna. It is deep, unrestricted, pinpointed concentration of the mind on a particular object or idea.

The seventh step is Dhyana, which is meditative awareness. For instance, there is a steady flow when oil is poured from one vessel to another; when the flow of concentration (Dharna) is uninterrupted, the state that arises is Dhyana (meditation).

The last step in Raja Yoga is Samadhi, the highest level of meditation and the supreme goal of Yoga. It is oneness - union with the Self (the Divine). In the state of Samadhi, the body and senses are at rest as if one is asleep but at the same time, the faculties of mind and reason are fully alert, like when one is wide-awake.


 Explore SimplyAstro - Ask Personal Questions to our Gurus/Experts
Our Gurus / Experts Featured Sections Popular Free Services Zodiac Predictions
Astrology Expert
Numerology Expert
Vaastu Expert
Match Making Expert - For Singles/Married
Feng Shui Expert
Psychic Expert
Life Success Expert
Palmistry Expert
Spiritual Healer
Hand Writing Expert
Business/Career Expert
Tarot Expert
Gem Expert
Mantra Expert
Lal Kitab Expert
Astro Love Expert
Intuition Expert and Counselor
Egyptian Card Expert
Courses in Astrology / Vastu / Palmistry
Birth Charts
Match Making
Fun / Facts
Color Therapy
Pranic Healing
Numbers in your life
Monthly Predictions
Weekly Predictions
Daily Predictions

About Us | Subscribe Predictions | Terms of Use | Privacy policy | Partner with us | Contact Us | Site Map

Vital Acts:  Indian Matrimonial   |    Simply  Your Classifieds   |  Follow us on Twitter   Bookmark and Share

All trademarks, logos and names are properties of their respective owners and SimplyAstro Web Services.
All Rights Reserved.© Copyright 2008 .