More Fun
  Make My Wish
  Astro E-cards
  Love Calculator
  Crystal Ball
  Lotto Number
  Analyze Phone
  Today's Fortune
  What's in a Name
  Astro Opinion Poll
  Age Calculator
Hall of Fame
  iPhone App
  Daily Panchang
  About Baby Names
  Chinese Astrology
  About Food Astrology
  About Fruit Astrology
  About Color Astrology
  About Numerology
  Dream Dictionary
  About Vaastu
  About Pyramids
  About Crystals
  About Colors
  About Yoga
  About Medidation
  About Healing
  About Hypnosis
  About Reiki

Bhakti Yoga Hatha YogaJnana YogaKarma Yoga Kundalini YogaLaya YogaRaja Yoga

Jnana Yoga

Jnana means wisdom or discernment. Jnana yoga is the path of wisdom and jnana meditation is many-faceted.

This is supposed to be the yoga of the intelligent or the superior few. All other varieties of yoga are believed ultimately to lead to this kind of yoga, in which one comes to look at everything in the world as it is, without any ignorance and bias. This is supposed to be achieved through a continued practice of a strenuous mental discipline and virtue. This variety is also called Raja Yoga, because it is the highest variety, so to say, or the yoga that presides. Perhaps it is the variety which patanjali has described in his Yoga Sutra. He has said that it is made of eight parts, five of which are said to be external, and three internal. Yama and Niyama, that is, the first two patts, are concerned respectively with what habits a student of yoga should avoid (e.g. harming others, speaking Jies, stealing, gathering wealth unnecessarily, etc.), and what habits he should positively cultivate (e.g. cleanliness of the body and mind, contentment, devotion etc.) Asana and Pranayama, which are respectively the third and fourth parts in patanjali's system, are dealt with elaborately in Hatha Yoga. The fifth part, namely, Pratyahara, indicates a withdrawal of the sense organs from the objects of enjoyment. The next three parts consist of a process of progressive mental concentration. Patanjali argues that through a faithful and intense practice of these eight parts of yoga for a sufficient length of time, a student of yoga can wash away all the impurities of his body and mind, so that he attains knowledge which ultimately liberates him from bondage and ignorance. This yoga is also called Ashtanga Yoga, because of the fact that it is made of eight parts. It is also sometimes called Dhyana Yoga, because of an emphasis on mental concentration. We find a lucid description of this variety of yoga in the sixth chapter of the Gita. It is usually this yoga that is implied whenever the word "yoga" stands alone without any qualification.


 Explore SimplyAstro - Ask Personal Questions to our Gurus/Experts
Our Gurus / Experts Featured Sections Popular Free Services Zodiac Predictions
Astrology Expert
Numerology Expert
Vaastu Expert
Match Making Expert - For Singles/Married
Feng Shui Expert
Psychic Expert
Life Success Expert
Palmistry Expert
Spiritual Healer
Hand Writing Expert
Business/Career Expert
Tarot Expert
Gem Expert
Mantra Expert
Lal Kitab Expert
Astro Love Expert
Intuition Expert and Counselor
Egyptian Card Expert
Courses in Astrology / Vastu / Palmistry
Birth Charts
Match Making
Fun / Facts
Color Therapy
Pranic Healing
Numbers in your life
Monthly Predictions
Weekly Predictions
Daily Predictions

About Us | Subscribe Predictions | Terms of Use | Privacy policy | Partner with us | Contact Us | Site Map

Vital Acts:  Indian Matrimonial   |    Simply  Your Classifieds   |  Follow us on Twitter   Bookmark and Share

All trademarks, logos and names are properties of their respective owners and SimplyAstro Web Services.
All Rights Reserved.© Copyright 2008 .